Sacramental Information
Christ communicates in His Spirit and the grace of God through seven sacraments to all the members of the Church. Through them divine life is bestowed upon us and is as follows: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.

Sacraments of Christian Initiation

Baptism makes one a member of the one Body of Christ by the cleansing from sin and regeneration into new birth in the Holy Spirit. Parents who seek the sacrament of Baptism must be registered in the Parish and attend baptismal instruction class. Those interested should call the parish office. The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is instructional classes which prepare adults and older youths for the sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation.

In Confirmation one receives a special outpouring of the Holy Spirit like that of Pentecost. This impresses on the soul an indelible character and produces a growth in the grace of baptism. It roots the recipient more deeply in divine sonship, binds him more firmly to Christ and to the Church and reinvigorates the gifts of the Holy Spirit in his soul. It gives a special strength to bear witness to the Christian faith.

In the Eucharist, the sanctifying action of God toward His people and our worship of Him reach their high point. It contains the whole spiritual good of the Church which is Christ Himself, communion with the divine life and the unity of the People of God are both expressed and affected by the Eucharist. Through this celebration we are united already with the liturgy of heaven and we have foretaste of eternal life.

Sacraments of Healing

Christ, the physician of our soul and body, instituted these sacraments because the new life that He gives us in the sacraments of Christian initiation can be weakened and even lost because of sin. Therefore, Christ willed that his Church should continue His work of healing and salvation by means of these two sacraments.

Within, Reconciliation is the movement of a “contrite heart” (Psalm 51:19) drawn by divine grace to respond to the merciful love of God. This entails sorrow for and abhorrence of sins committed a firm purpose not to sin again and trust in God’s mercy. It is nourished by hope and divine mercy. The sacrament of penance or reconciliation is celebrated on Saturdays at 4 pm & 6:30pm (English & Spanish), Sundays at 9:45am, and anytime by appointment.

Anointing of the Sick
This sacrament confers a special grace which unites the sick person more intimately with the Passion of Christ for His good and for the good of all the Church. It gives comfort, peace, courage, and even the forgiveness of sins if the sick person is not able to make a confession. Sometimes, if it the will of God, this sacrament even brings about the restoration of physical health. In any case this Anointing prepares the sick person for the journey to the Father’s House.

Please notify one of our priests if anyone in the family is seriously ill or in the hospital that they be anointed. If needed, a priest or Extraordinary Minister of Holy Communion may take the Eucharist on a weekly basis to those unable to attend Mass.

Sacraments of Mission

The sacraments of Holy Orders and of Holy Matrimony confer a special grace for a particular mission in the Church to serve and build up the People of God, contributing in a special way to ecclesial communion and to the salvation of others.

The marital union of man and woman, which is founded and endowed with its own proper laws by the Creator, is by its very nature ordered to the communion and good of the couple and to the generation and education of children. According to the original divine plan this conjugal union is indissoluble, as Jesus Christ affirmed; “What God has joined together, let no man put asunder” (Mark 10:9). Matrimonial consent is given when a man and a woman manifest the will to give themselves to each other irrevocably in order to live a covenant of faithful and fruitful love. Since consent constitutes Matrimony, it is indispensable and irreplaceable.

Those contemplating marriage should contact the pastor at least 4 months before the planned date and must complete the diocesan approved preparation program.

If you’re looking for music suggestions for your wedding, click here.

Holy Orders
The sacrament of Holy Orders is composed of three degrees which are irreplaceable for the organic structure of the Church: the episcopate (bishops), the presbyterate (priests), and the diaconate (deacons).